Media Group

En Pursuit: How Bad Do You Want Success?

I posted this a while ago on my old site, MDS. While I was stuck at the airport toggling between homework and project planning, I remembered this clip and had to revisit it. “When you want to succeed as bad as you want to breathe, then you’ll be successful.” This is in all honesty common sense. Remarkably it is something so common that we often over look it. I was sitting just the other day thinking about the successful family friends that I have and I was trying to formulate an approach to presenting them the common question people often ask, “What is your key to success?” I quickly realized the appropriate response and it was that “Everybody wants the keys to success but they’re too lazy or unwilling to go out and find the doors.” This of course is something I know that I personally fall a victim to myself on occasion. It is because of this that I try to constantly surround myself with reminders to remain focused on the pursuit (Arete Plug). To bring things full circle, it goes back to the Silver Lining Series (1, 2, 3, 4) Eric Thomas in this says, “Most of us say we want to be successful but we dont want it bad. We just kind of want it. We dont want it badder than we want to party. We dont want it as much as we want to be cool. We dont want it as much as we want to sleep.” Determination, dedication, patience, and persistence is what is necessary. I would hope that we all decide to take our respective paths towards Arete.

Let us Pursue Arete.

Leave a Reply

